electro/techno/house/trance ect ect ect ect

Guest Eh Ah Ken

look this might sound stupid but as rgulars will know ive been using this forum for around two years and many of you have turned me to some songs and acts that have tuely changed my life. i was just wondering if someone could take the time to explain to me what the difference is between the main genre's cause i am totally ignorant to it. i know theres some i love and some i hate. if anyone can help that would be most super awesome and in return i shall compliment your user name.

thanks.

There are no stupid questions...

Interesting to hear what peoples answers are to this, as different people would use different definitions. One of my mates argues that all the sub genres are a bad thing and that it is all just Electronic Dance Music. Then again, he loves his Tech House.

Truth is I wouldn't know where to begin on this one without it sounding like a really boring history lesson and even then a loada people would say I was wrong anyway.

Chances are that you will like some stuff within one genre but not all. I imagine you like some rock and hate others? There is a shit load of trance that leaves me cold, yet I love Paul Van Dyk.

I know this doesn't really answer your question, sorry.

Electro - generally a catch all title for anything poppy and gash

Techno - Doesn't have vocals and sounds like a deeper house.

House - Many sub genres from shitey soulful stuff at the top end to techy house where techno and house meet at the bottom (and quality) end. Standard 4/4 beat